Recipe of the Day: Smoked Mackerel Risotto

Image

After journeying home to London from Bexhill-on-Sea I was super hungry and in need of something stodgy! Unfortunately the fridge was almost bare apart from some sticks of celery and a couple of Dairylea cheese triangles. And so, instead of rushing straight for the take away pizza menu I had a little dig through the freezer. To my delight I found some smoked mackerel fillets which I decided to grill with a little butter and add to this wonderful risotto.

Ingredients:

2 Smoked Mackerel fillets
2 Sticks of Celery
1/2 cup of rice (Wish I had risotto rice but I used basmati)
1 fish stock cube
1 Dairylea Cheese triangle

I spread some butter over the mackerel and grilled on high until it was sizzling. Meanwhile I put the rice in the pan with the stock cube and enough water to cover about an inch above the rice. I sliced the celery into small pieces and added once most of the water had been absorbed. I then flaked the fish off the skin and added it to the risotto. Lastly, I popped in the Dairylea to give it a rich creamy texture. The trick is to over boil the rice if you don’t have any risotto rice. This makes it thick and stodgy. Done! Easy and delicious 🙂

Leave a comment